Welcome to the Small Business Ideas Forum! We are a community of over 100,000 small business folks with over 163,000 posts for you to browse. We pride ourselves on being the friendliest forum you will find and we'd love to have you as a member of our community. Please take a moment and register for a free account. If you need any help, please contact Chris Logan.

Small Business Ideas Forum

Small Business Ideas Forum

A friendly place to share small business ideas and knowledge, ask questions, find help and encourage others that are involved in the small business industry. Topics include small business marketing, generating revenue and small business computing.

Go Back   Small Business Ideas Forum > Generating Revenue, Insurance, Taxes, Etc. > Sales
Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Old 22nd August 2006, 03:22 PM   #1
Cashflowfmp

Default Why Accept Credit Cards?

I am a business owner, liquor shop, trying to decide if I should accept credit cards in my store.

Most people tell me yeah, and they say something like:

"If I am carrying $20 cash and you don't accept credit cards then that is the most I can spend (TRUE, I GET THAT). If you accept credit cards then I can buy a bottle of wine as well as the twelve pack and might as well throw in a corkscrew as well."

My question is, you only came in with $20 to buy what you wanted, why NOW all of a sudden that you can use your credit card, WHY would you want to buy a bottle of wine, a twelve pack, and a corkscrew....why, when you didn't want to before?

See my question, why do customers ALL OF A SUDDEN, spend more using a credit card.....when they were not going to do it with cash?

What I am saying, is WHAT MAKES A CUSTOMER, spend more using a credit card? What guarantees do I have that a customer would spend more using credit cards? They come in to buy something worth $10 with cash, now that they can use their credit cards...WHY WOULD THEY, add on $5 worth of extra items?

See my question?