Google

Web smallbusinessbrief.com

View Full Version : A small "difference"?

jmjj215
18th August 2004, 01:23 PM
I am very new to this whole SEO things, but find it extremely entertaining to say the least.

I rank #2 on google for "personal finance excel spreadsheets" but I don't even show up anywhere on google without those handy little double-quotes. Isn't it much more valuable to be ranked high where people don't have to use those quotes?

Jesse

divshow
18th August 2004, 01:48 PM
Jesse ~

Could you put your website up so we can take a look? ;)

David Wallace
18th August 2004, 01:58 PM
If you are referring to the site listed in your profile, you need to concentrate on getting some external links to your site. Currently Google does not show any links pointing to your site and you have a PageRank of '0'.

Is your site brand new?

BWelford
18th August 2004, 02:08 PM
I'm guessing from the Google hint that the website is www.youneedabudget.com (http://www.youneedabudget.com/begin.php).

It may be tough to sell such low-priced items on the web at present when they don't know who you are, jmjj215. Even your About Us page doesn't let us know who really is behind this.

I believe people buy from people. The website visitor has to feel confidence that the outcome is going to be pleasurable. I often suggest that a website should have NBC.

NBC stands for:
News - something to indicate that your company is a mover and a shaker. People are talking about you.
Bodies - Some indication of who are the real-live people who are enthusiastic, energetic, knowledgeable and experienced and who will be putting out everything they've got to make sure the customer is satisfied.
and
Customers - Testimonials from real-life customers they can relate to who have benefited by buying the products and services.

Just my two cents. :)

jmjj215
18th August 2004, 04:42 PM