Google

Web smallbusinessbrief.com

View Full Version : SEO Checklist

Trivia-Wolf
31st July 2004, 09:09 AM
I've been doing web pages since the mid 1990s, I work alone, read-n-research as much as possible about SEO and relevant things, but find that after 14 years in business, one developes tunnel-vision. :(

What I have never seen is a check-list that can be used to make sure that when you create a page or site, you have put in at least most of the basic elements for the engines and for people.

I thought that if some are interested, we might be able to come up with a check-list that could help all of us. If this is something that is of no interest to anyone, or is not worth doing, I won't feel bad if the thread is removed.

I'll start by what I use:

Page Title: Use a descriptive, informative title

Meta Tags:
<meta name="Description" content=" ">
<meta name="Keywords" content=" ">
<meta name="revisit-after" content="15 days">
<meta name="robots" content="index,follow">
or <meta name="robots" content="noindex, nofollow">
<meta name="distribution" content="global">
<meta name="copyright" content="Copyright © 200?, WEBSITE NAME, CITY, All rights reserved worldwide">
<meta name="rating" content="GENERAL">
<meta name="classification" content="Business and Economy">
<meta name="author" content="INFO GOES HERE">
<meta http-equiv="reply-to" content="[email protected]">

Alternate Text Tags on Images: A descriptive tag - not just xyz.jpg (4K)

index page - text rich with keywords. Sometimes I use a meta tag to redirect to a home page after 0 seconds. The index page is for the engines and not for people.

Frame pages: Most of the time I don't use frames since if a Search Engine indexes the frame and you don't have links built in, the viewer has no way to get back to the rest or your site.

Page Size and Loading Time: Short to medium sized pages that load relatively quickly with a dial-up connection.

Optimize all graphics and use appropriate image size.