Google

Web smallbusinessbrief.com

View Full Version : submit to directories

lake_ontario2000
22nd July 2004, 02:33 PM
Hi everyone,

I am a totally newbie to internet marketing. I am so glad to find this forum and learned a lot from just listening. Thank you.

I am submitting to some directories. And I don't know is this the right place to post the questions I have in mind.

When I submit to some directories, they ask me to insert certain meta tag to my page. Is it good to my site or not?

Also I find it is so time consuming just submitting. I just wonder how do you guys usually do? How many directories do you submit everyday?

Thank you

Robert
22nd July 2004, 03:28 PM
Hi Yang! We are glad you're here. :)

Do you know what types of meta tags they are suggesting you add to your pages? For example, meta description, meta keyword, etc.

Localmn
22nd July 2004, 03:50 PM
Do you mean a special meta tag that they have you cut and paste in your own code? I've seen a lot of them before. I don't think they're evil, but I do avoid them just to be safe.

I've seen directories that will automatically pull up your meta description and keyword tags when you enter your URL as well.

Yep, submitting to directories is time consuming. I don't submit to a certain amount everyday. It's really good for link building purposes, and depending on how competitive your industry is, the more you'd probably want to find. Hope this helps.

Paul

WiteKnite
23rd July 2004, 06:46 AM
Couldn't agree with you more... posting is a lot of work... I thought I'd "get rich quick with little or no work" and it turns out that's not true! ;)

When I started, I used to set a goal of X directories per day... I started with 10 and never actually made that... then I went to 5, and sometimes didn't make that... Depending on the directories you encounter, it can be VERY time consuming. :(